The Lendosan Confederation maintains a relatively large military. This military is primarily orientated towards defence, however - there is little emphasis placed on the ability to launch invasions or conduct massive airstrikes. This is primarily due to Lendosa's current policy of international neutrality. It should be emphasised that neutrality, in Lendosa's case, does not mean weakness - the Confederation's forces are quite capable of repelling any foreign attacks. Rather, it merely indicates that any conflict which Lendosa enters into will not be started by Lendosa.


The Lendosan military is divided into three branches - the Army, the Navy, and the Airforce. These branches operate with a high degree of cohesion, and Lendosan military units may contain elements of any or all of them - an example would be an aircraft carrier, which would be commanded by the Navy but which would incorporate Airforce planes and pilots, or an paratrooper division, consisting of Army soldiers and Airforce helicopters. The command and rank structures of each service are kept very similar to each other, aiding in interoperability - a Commodore (Navy) can issue orders to a Major (Army) despite being in a different branch.


The traditional emblem of the military, dating back to the Army of the Republic (predating both the Confederation and the Empire) is a diamond shape fitted into a downward-pointing arrowhead. The origin of the symbol is debated.

The Army, Navy, and Airforce are identified by the colours green, blue, and teal, respectively. Their emblems consist of the same symbol as is used by the military in general, but coloured either green, blue, or teal.

Ranks and Rank Insignia

The rank structure of the Lendosan military is slightly different from that of many other countries, and is based on the system used in the old Lendian Empire. Unlike in many other services, there is no explicit distinction in the Lendosan system between commissioned and non-commissioned officers, with these roles being marked using different means. Also, Lendosan ranks are designed from the outset to fit into a unified structure for all services, rather than having ranks evolve separately for each. For example, the army rank of Colonel and the navy rank of Captain are considered to be not just "equivalent", but simply two different names for the same rank. A Colonel and a Captain are identified by the same emblems. The integration between ranks is useful, because the Lendosan military does not duplicate roles in the same way that other militaries sometimes do. For example, many navies around the world operate their own "air arm", independent of the Airforce, which operates carrier-based planes or helicopters. In Lendosa, this role is performed by the Airforce, meaning that there must be good interaction between a carrier's command staff (navy) and pilots (airforce).

The table below shows translations of the Lendosan military's ranks. The rank's primary insignia is worn on the front of the uniform (see below), and consists of a number of gold squares to indicate seniority. Rank is also indicated by bars running lengthwise along a uniform's shoulder, which operate in a similar manner.

Pilot Officer
Air Officer
Air Leader
Wing Leader
Flight Leader
Station Commander
Fleet Commander
Base Commander
Air Commander
High Marshal
High Admiral
High Air Commander
Grand Marshal
Grand Admiral
Grand Air Commander
In addition, members of the Lendosan military also wear a coloured marking which can identify them as serving a special role. These markings are worn both on the front of the uniform (a coloured rectangle to the side of the rank insignia) and, for officers, on the epaulet bar (a circular inset). There are presently six possible colours - grey, red, green, blue, white, and black. Historically, there have been other colours (purple, for example, was used on uniforms worn by members of the old aristocracy and by others who held ceremonial rank), but these have been discontinued. The table below illustrates different colours on epaulet bars of the fourth rank (Major, Adjutant, or Wing Leader).
The general classification for all officers without particular fields of speciality. This category includes most combat officers and most senior command officers. All ordinary troops would fall into this category, but it is not thought necessary for them to be identified as such.
The classification for personnel who serve in their force's medical branch. Doctors, nurses, and counsellors are all considered to fit into this category.
The classification for personnel who have particular responsibility for a technical or scientific element of their service. Examples of technical personnel include aircraft mechanics, engineers, radar technicans, communications specialists, and translators.
The classification for personnel who have responsibilities regarding internal security and the enforcement of military regulations and discipline. This is similar to a Military Police designation in other countries. These personnel often have powers similar to those of civilian police.
The classification for personnel whose role is involves the provision of infrastructural and logistical services to the rest of the military. Clerks, cooks, cleaners, drivers, and quartermasters all fall into this group.
The classification for personnel who have special responsibility for political or diplomatic matters. These officers are responsible advising other officers about the political situation in which military activity takes place, conducting any negotiations with foreign forces, and ensuring loyalty to the central command.


The design of uniforms is standard across all services, being based on an Imperial design. The colour of the unform varies depending on the service - the Army uses green, the Navy uses blue, and the Airforce uses teal. Below are officers' uniforms from each force. The rank insignia is of the eighth rank (Marshal, Admiral, Force Commander).